Free Gay Sex Photos, Movies, Reviews and Forums at JustUsBoys
View RSS Feed

Corny

Firefox 1.0 Tutorial, Part One of Three

Rate this Entry
by , December 7th, 2004 at 03:53 PM (511 Views)

Firefox 1.0 Tutorial
Part One

This is the first part of the Firefox (short: FF) Tutorial for the 1.0 version of FF. It covers the installation, first start and first steps plus some basic information about the FF Browser itself.

Its intended for absolute beginners. People who in general have a basic clue about how to install a program, and aren't worried about doing anything wrong, can just quickly skim through this first part to get the download-url and continue to read after the installation stuff.

When some single words appear as links, you can get additional information about the term by clicking that link, however you aren't required to know this stuff, it's just additional information for those who are interested.

About Firefox

What's Firefox? A Firefox is a very cute animal! And it's a browser. A browser is a program that you use for surfing the internet, just like the Microsoft Internet Explorer or eg Safari (by the way: FF is avaible for many OS including Mac OS X and Linux).

The FF project started back in 2002 when some developers of the Mozilla project decided that they want to do a split off the Mozilla Browser Suite which had become to feature-rich and had a too complicated code-base. Firefox first started under the name "Phoenix". But the BIOS company with the same name sued them, so in May 2003 it was named "Firebird". However, there was an open-source database called "Firebird", too. They didn't sue Mozilla, but because of high public demand, the browser was renamed again, and got its final name: "Firefox" - which is now a registered Trademark, so it can't be taken away, again ;).

So why should i use Firefox? I already have a browser!

Because it's better. (of course this is a purely subjective view :) )