JustUsBoys.com gay porn forum

logo

remove these banner ads by becoming a JUB Supporter.

Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Connection errors

      
   
  1. #1
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Connection errors

    I'm running Windows XP Pro, and I've never had this problem before, but recently none of my newly isntalled applications can connect to the server.

    For months, applications like MSN messenger, and more recently emusic download manager, yahoo messenger, etc. can't connect to the server. I always get messeges saying that the connection c ould not be established at this time or "error: connection with the server could not be established".

    It's pissing me off. Nothing, not even pictures will get through those programs.

    I don't understand why. I checked my firewall options and all these programs have exceptions alotted for them, so they shouldn't conflict withe programs. I don't know what to do.

    All the programs I've had for ever on this computer like Limewire, AIM, my browsers, work fine. I don't know what to do anymore. I've even tried disabling the firewall completely but that hasn't fixed anything.

    Could it be a virus? Does my computer not have enough memory? Please help!

  2. #2
    Lightwave Alien provenlogic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Pegasus Galaxy
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    2,009

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    what software or upgrades have you installed on your computer lately, it sounds as if something has messed up your connection settings.

    What kind of connection do you have? Dial up? DSL? Cable? Are you going through a router?
    Logic

    - Computer Scientist / PC Game Designer
    - Digital Artist / Graphic Designer
    - Certified Gay Geek

    - My Gallery -


  3. #3
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    Thanks for responding.

    I haven't done any updates recently other than the automatic Windows updates. Could it be those?

    I am going through a router for my cable connection.

  4. #4
    noelie
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    It may be a simple TCP/IP problem (Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol).

    There are some built-in tools in Windows that you can use to purge the cache and reset your TCP/IP stack.

    Start-Run-cmd

    netsh int ip delete arpcache

    Should return:
    Ok
    **************

    ipconfig /flushdns

    Should return:
    Windows IP Configuration
    Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.

    ***********************************

    ipconfig /registerdns

    Should return:
    Windows IP Configuration
    Registration of the DNS resource records for all adapters of this computer has been initiated. Any errors will be reported in the Event Viewer in 15 minutes.

    ************************************************** ****

    ipconfig /displaydns

    Should return:
    Windows IP Configuration (followed by a table of stuff)
    ******************************************

    Be careful with this next one as it's a bit of a WMD and should only be used as a last resort but shouldn't do any harm under normal circumstances:

    netsh int ip reset
    **************

    (From a previous thread).


  5. #5
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    Thanks noelie. I did all of them, but the last one said that certain permaeters weren't correct or something.

    I also tried again, but I'm still getting the same problem with the same error where my apps wont connect to the server.

    Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    noelie
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    It sounds like something is blocking them since some apps are connecting and others aren't.

    Methinks that MS firewall or some other firewall (software like Zonealarm or hardware like your router) that you may have forgotten about is stopping them.

    Not all apps use the same ports all the time so you may have to pick one app and do some research on it as far as ports and protocols are concerned.

    Personally I just have a medium firewall protection setting on my router and I permit just about everything to get out.

    You could try switching off the router fiewall for a few minutes just to see if they can get out.

  7. #7
    Resident Time Lord
    mike_n_herrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Gallifrey (aka Sacramento, CA)
    Gender
    Male
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    21,580

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    well...it seems to me that if all these programs we're talking about worked "before" and now they are not and he didn't reconfigure his firewall or router...then something changed settings for him. assuming the windows updates are the only thing that have changed...is anyone aware of recent updates that might have changed his settings? i'm just throwing that out there...i have no clue. the only recent updates i've seen were to outlook.

  8. #8
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    Well, none of those programs worked before, since they're newly installed. So I don't know if it's because I did something before that that won't allow any new prgrams to access the internet.

    I tried dsiabling the firewall and it didn't work...*sigh

    Oh well...

    Thanks for everyone's help...

  9. #9
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    I installed and ran the same programs on my firend's laptop and when one of them tried to download, a pop up said it was trying to access the net. It allowed me to choose what I wanted to do (liek grant it access, access one time, no access, etc.).

    Is this supposed to happen with windows and is something on my computer possibly messed up? Or is it more likely to be the wireless router my other housemates are on? Because I'm connected via ethernet cable.

  10. #10
    noelie
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    I'm afraid I'd go for a complete reinstall of Windows at this point (or a dual boot) unless someone else can come up with a better solution. If your friend can connect without a problem (except for his XP firewall popping up which is normal) and only half of your apps can connect then it's something on your system AFAIK. See if anyone else has any ideas. Mike, Proven, T-Rexx?

  11. #11
    T-Rexx
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    Quote Originally Posted by luminum View Post
    I installed and ran the same programs on my friend's laptop and when one of them tried to download, a pop up said it was trying to access the net. It allowed me to choose what I wanted to do (like grant it access, access one time, no access, etc.).
    This is the behavior of a firewall program like Norton Internet Security, ZoneAlarm, etc. That was the firewall program on your friend's laptop. Nevertheless, I believe noel was correct when he observed:

    Quote Originally Posted by noelie View Post
    It sounds like something is blocking them since some apps are connecting and others aren't.

    Methinks that MS firewall or some other firewall (software like Zonealarm or hardware like your router) that you may have forgotten about is stopping them.
    As mikey and noel have observed, the weird thing about this is that only some apps are being blocked. That is very suggestive of the behavior of some firewall program. It doesn't seem to me that you have completely ruled this out, luminum. I know you said you "disabled the firewall," but are you sure there wasn't another firewall in place?

    Invoke the Task Manager (Ctrl-Alt-Del) and see what programs and processes are running. It is possible that one of the programs you installed recently also installed another firewall. I have noticed that some of the security programs included in those disks you get with magazines have a tendency to do this.

    Beyond that, I'm stumped. I agree it may be time to reformat and reinstall.

  12. #12
    Resident Time Lord
    mike_n_herrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Gallifrey (aka Sacramento, CA)
    Gender
    Male
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    21,580

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    Quote Originally Posted by luminum View Post
    Well, none of those programs worked before, since they're newly installed. So I don't know if it's because I did something before that that won't allow any new prgrams to access the internet.

    I tried dsiabling the firewall and it didn't work...*sigh

    Oh well...

    Thanks for everyone's help...
    sorry buddy, i misread your original post. i thought you had programs that worked before, but aren't now. i would suggest running "hijackthis"

    here is a post i made of how to use hijack this before. instead of posting the text to the web sites i mention below (i think that was step 10), try posting them here and let us take a look at it. then maybe one of us can figure out if a program is running in the background (i.e., another firewall program).

    Quote Originally Posted by mike_n_herrin View Post
    there is maybe another thing you can try. it's a bit more complicated..but not much. it's a program called "hijackthis" that tells you about stuff on your system. I will try and post some instructions here on how/where to get this.

    1. Go here: http://www.hijackthis.de/
    2. Click the “direct download” link to get hijackthis version 1.99.9
    3. You will then need to save the file and unzip it once it’s downloaded.
    4. Then you will need to run the program, by double clicking the unzipped file.
    5. You’ll get a warning, but just click “ok” and go on.
    6. In the next box, click the “do a system scan only” button
    7. That will run the scan, once it’s done the text box will have a lot of stuff in it. You now need to click the “save log” button. And then pick where you want it to save to. I would pick the desktop so you can find it easily.
    8. The log file will then open in Notepad.
    9. In notepad, click edit, select all, then edit (again) and copy. That will copy the text to the clipboard.
    10. Then go to this web site and paste the text into the white text box: http://hjt.networktechs.com/
    11. Now click the “parse” button at the bottom of the white text box.
    12. That will bring up a page that will color code things running on your system and you may be able to see what bad things are running (they are red i think).

    You can also copy and paste your text back at the hijack this page here: http://www.hijackthis.de/ and past into the white text box there. Then press the “analyze” button at the bottom. That will bring up a list of things running and then put an icon next to it telling you if it’s ok or not.

    after all that if something does show up red you can go back to the Hijack this program run the scan again (or if you left it open you can just go back to that) and put a check in the box next to the bad thing and then click the "add checked to the ignore list" button to make it not run.

    you can also post your log file here i think and maybe one of the bigger computer geeks than me can tell just by looking at it what is going on.

    good luck!

  13. #13
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    That's a good point, T-Rexxx. I don't know if I have another one, though I suspect I do.

    Here are the processes I'm running. If any of you guys see anything redundant, let me know.

    Here's some background info:

    I'm the 'host' computer for my house's network, though I'm not sure if I ever got it right, since I connect via ethernet to the router and they all connect via the router's wireless support.

  14. #14
    T-Rexx
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    ^ The very first process on your list, mcshield*****, is a virus scanner from McAfee. It may be a part of a McAfee Internet Security suite, or it may be a standalone virus scanner. Even if it is the latter, however, it is possible that it includes a small firewall as part of it's functionality.

    I don't really believe it is the culprit, but I would try shutting it down, just to see if your blocked applications start functioning again. The only negative consequence of shutting it down temporarily will be the loss of virus scanning while it's down.

    I didn't really see anything else on the list that looked suspicious. I notice that the list fills the length of the page, however, The processess don't scroll down below what you've displayed, do they, luminum?

  15. #15
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    No, I scrolled and joined the two lists together so it shows all of them.

    This is what I think is the culprit...

    I have my own Windows firewall, but I also became the host for the router my house isntalled. I believe I set up some firewall programs in an attempt to keep other people from using our wireless internet connection. In fact, I think I did it several times because I didn't think it was working. How would I go about finding out if it's running and killing it?

  16. #16
    JUB Addict 3nipples's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bern
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    3,047

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    The protection you set up on the router would be to keep other wireless devices from connecting to it. It shouldn't affect what you're trying to do.

    The way you describe your setup, the router is connecting all the other pc's in your house to your computer and presumably your computer is connecting to the internet via an adsl modem or via an internet connection provided by your building?

    Typically I would expect the router to be doing the connection, either with a built-in or external adsl modem. While it's not impossible that it's going through your computer to get to the modem, it doesn't make much sense to me. Is that really how you're connected?

    The reason I'm asking is because a connection provided by your building could have a filter set up to prevent people from connecting to sites that consume a lot of bandwidth. The router, if you were connecting through it, could also have a filter, but this one you should be able to change.

    Another possibility is that your ISP is blocking certain ports used by download programs like WinMX, eMule. In this case you simply have to change the default ports.

    Finally, but this should have been the first step, have you ping'ed the sites at all to see if you can get to them without any application baggage?

  17. #17
    noelie
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    Okay - you've just added a whole new level here - in fact you've added several new levels.

    What do you mean by "host for the router my house isntalled"?

    Where did you set up "some" fiewall programs? On your PC? On the router?

    Are you yourself connecting via a cable or wireless or both?

    You don't need firewalls to stop others from using your WiFi connection - you can use MAC addresses and/or WPA for that.

    You need to draw us a picture - a very detailed picture dude (maybe take a photo and post it even).

  18. #18
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    Okay, here's what I'm doing with my computer.

    My computer is the only desktop in the house. Everyone else uses laptops.

    So we bought a router (that useses Linksys) and hooked it up to the cable modem. The router has ports for ethernet cable connections.

    So naturally, my computer is hooked up to the internet through the router via ethernet cable.

    Everyone else has wireless capabilities, so they use the wireless signal that's transmitted from the router.

    When I set up the router, I had to install the application and my computer was apparently the one that runs the network.

  19. #19
    noelie
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    Your PC doesn't run the network. Linksys does. You've just got an interface to access the router administration.

    You need to temporarily unplug the router - plug your PC directly into the cable modem and see if your non-working apps start to work (i.e. connect) if they do then your problem is with the router. If they don't then the problem is with your PC IMO.

    What everyone else is doing doesn't matter - even if they're downloading movies the fabric of the router (the way it's designed) means that it will still give you some bandwidth to connect.

  20. #20
    trydegrau
    Guest

    Re: Connection errors

    try this:
    http://www.lvllord.de/?lang=en&url=downloads
    I offer no guarantees that it'll solve your problem though.

  21. #21
    Resident Time Lord
    mike_n_herrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Gallifrey (aka Sacramento, CA)
    Gender
    Male
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    21,580

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    i found a description of some of the processes i didn't know from these web sites: http://www.liutilities.com/products/...rocesslibrary/
    and
    http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/index.html

    maybe one of the guys with more knowledge than I can interpret some of them.

    mcshield*****: this process is associated with McAfee's Internet Security suite. More specifically, it is essential to the Antivirus software and should not be removed.

    wisptis***** is a product which is installed alongside Microsoft office or comes packaged with Windows update. This process deals with 'Windows ink services' and tends to run alongside Adobe Acrobat Reader. This program is a non-essential process, but should not be terminated unless suspected to be causing problems.

    realsched***** is a program which schedules for manual update checks for Real Networks products. This is a non-essential process. Disabling or enabling this is down to user preference however disabling may prevent notification of updates.

    jusched***** is a process installed alongside Sun Microsystem's Java suite and checks for Java updates which involves usage of the Internet. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer's Internet browsing and Java usage and should not be terminated.

    updaterui***** belongs to the McAfee Enterprise 7.0 application. This process should not be removed to ensure that your system is secure.

    tbmon***** is a process belonging to the Network Associates Internet Security suite and acts as an error reporter for their range of AntiVirus products. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

    shstat*****: is an application which deals with McAfee process-to-process communications. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

    viewmgr*****: is responsible for managing and updating ViewPoint Media Player's components. Similar to Flash, Acrobat, Windows, QuickTime, etc., Viewpoint posts updates toits servers and occasionally the ViewPoint Media Player will check to make sure that it's the latest version. If you'd rather not allow the player to check for updates, you can disable this in your Viewpoint Manager Control Panel which can be found in the Windows Control Panel menu. By selecting "Disable auto-updating for the Viewpoint Manager" -- the player will no longer attempt to check for updates. At no time does ViewPoint Media Player or the Viewpoint Manager collect ANY personal data about you or your usage patterns, nor does it install third-party software or access information on your hard drive.

    wdfmgr***** is part of Microsoft Windows Media Player 10 and above. This process decreases compatibility problems whilst the product is in use. This program is a non-essential process, but should not be terminated unless suspected to be causing problems.

    naprdmgr***** is a process belonging to the McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator and deals with the product management. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

    vstskmgr***** is a process belonging to the McAfee Internet Security Suite and protects your computer from Internet-bound threats. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

    frameworkservice***** is a process by Network Associates belonging to their E-policy orchestrator anti-virus suite. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

    alg***** is a process belonging to Microsoft Windows Operating System. It is a core process for Microsoft Windows Internet Connection sharing and Internet connection firewall. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.
    Also: Application Layer Gateway service is a component of of Windows OS. It is required if you use a 3rd party firewall or Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) to connect to the internet. Do not end this program in task manager - you will lose all internet connectivity until next restart or login.

    lsass***** is a system process of the Microsoft Windows security mechanisms. It specifically deals with local security and login policies. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.
    Note: lsass***** can be a process which is registered as a trojan. This Trojan allows attackers to access your computer from remote locations, stealing passwords, Internet banking and personal data. This process is a security risk and should be removed from your system.
    Note: lsass***** is registered as a downloader. This process usually comes bundled with a virus or spyware and its main role is to do nothing other than download other viruses/spyware to your computer. This process is a security risk and should be removed from your system.
    Determining whether lsass***** is a virus or a legitimate Windows process depends on the directory location it executes or runs from in WinTasks. http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/index.html

    csrss***** is the main executable for the Microsoft Client/Server Runtime Server Subsystem. This process manages most graphical commands in Windows. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.
    Note: csrss***** can be a process which is registered as a trojan. This Trojan allows attackers to access your computer from remote locations, stealing passwords, Internet banking and personal data. This process is a security risk and should be removed from your system.
    Determining whether csrss***** is a virus or a legitimate Windows process depends on the directory location it executes or runs from in WinTasks. The real one is found in C:\Windows\System32.

    smss***** is a process which is a part of the Microsoft Windows Operating System. It is called the Session Manager Subsystem and is responsible for handling sessions on your system. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.
    Note: smss***** can be a process which is registered as a trojan. This Trojan allows attackers to access your computer from remote locations, stealing passwords, Internet banking and personal data. This process is a security risk and should be removed from your system.
    Determining whether smss***** is a virus or a legitimate Windows process depends on the directory location it executes or runs from in WinTasks. The real one is found in C:\Windows\System32.

  22. #22
    Imbeciles...
    luminum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chapel Hill
    Orientation
    Gay
    Status
    Single
    Posts
    11,229
    Blog Entries
    7

    Code of Conduct

    Re: Connection errors

    Thanks a lot guys! I'll see if I can figure it out based on your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | About JustUsBoys.com | Site Map | RSS | Webmasters | Advertise | Link to JUB | Report A Bug on this Page

Visit our sister sites: Broke Straight Boys | CollegeDudes.com | CollegeBoyPhysicals.com | RocketTube
All models appearing on JustUsBoys.com were over 18 at the time of photography. The records for sexually explicit images required by U.S. 2257 are kept by the
individual producers of the images. The location of the records is available by clicking the Custodian of Records link at the bottom of each gallery page.
© 2012 JustUsBoys.com. The JustUsBoys.com name and logo are registered trademarks. Labeled with ICRA and RTA. Member of ASACP and The Free Speech Coalition.